Support us


Our newsletter

Subscribe now

Take action

Send a letter

Contact us

By email

By post

You are here: Home / Who we are / about us / Meet the executive committee

Meet the executive committee

Friends of the Earth International's Executive Committee, elected at the 2012 general meeting, is composed of the following individuals.
Jagoda Munić was elected chair of Friends of the Earth International in 2012. She has been on the executive committee since 2004. She joined Friends of the Earth Croatia as a volunteer in 1997 and was president of the group from 2001 to 2007. She has degrees in biology; library and information sciences; and pollution and environmental control. She has lead biodiversity research projects and public advocacy campaigns including an anti GMO campaign, which resulted in one of the strictest anti GMO laws in the World.

Karin Karin Nansen is a founding member of Friends of the Earth Uruguay / REDES (since 1988). She is currently REDES- Programs Coordinator. Karin studied social sciences and social ecology, but she has learnt most through her work with peasant farming women in Uruguay and Latin America.


Hemantha Withanage is a co-founder and the executive director of the Centre for Environmental Justice in Sri Lanka. He is also the convenor of the Sri Lankan Working Group on Trade and IFIs. Hemantha has been instrumental in most of the public interest environmental litigations in Sri Lanka. His commitment to the environment has brought about national policies, including genetically modified food regulations. He is the treasurer for Friends of the Earth International's executive committee

Nnimmo 2
Nnimmo Bassey is the former chair of Friends of the Earth International and former Executive Director of Environmental Rights Action/Friends of the Earth Nigeria. He is currently the chair of the board of Environmental Rights Action,which was established in 1993 as a response to the environmental destruction and human rights abuses associated with the oil industry in Nigeria. He is also extremely active in the Oilwatch network. In addition Nnimmo is also an established poet and church minister.

Meena Raman is the Secretary General of Friends of the Earth Malaysia. For more than 20 years she has been involved in environmental struggles in Malaysia including the fight against multinational corporations, defending indigenous peoples’ and local communities rights over land, biodiversity and natural resources. She was a founding member of E-LAW – a network of environmental lawyers worldwide.

Elaine Gilligan has worked for Friends of the Earth England, Wales and Northern Ireland (EWNI) for over twenty years in a variety of local, regional and national roles fighting roads, protecting wildlife and tackling pollution. She has spearheaded environmental justice work within EWNI and now leads five new teams working on big thematic issues such as climate and energy, resource use and the economy.

Tatiana Roa Avendano is a Colombian environmentalist and engineer. She also has an MSc in Latin American studies. Tatiana is concerned with energy issues, mining, agriculture and water. She is a member of the editorial committee of Political Ecology. As an environmentalist, she has promoted campaigns against oil and mining, and has worked for the defence of life and natural heritage.

Daniel Ribeiro has been an activist since he was a teenager, when he co-founded a movement to oppose incineration of toxic waste in his hometown, Maputo. He was instrumental in founding JA (Justiça Ambiental/ Friends of the Earth Mozambique) and is currently the Research and Program Officer. He oversees all of JA’s programs including Industrial Pollution & Environment, Water & Development, and Land and Livelihoods. He has a Masters in Biology from the University of Cape Town.
Document Actions